• 0

Section II names girls soccer all-stars

Stillwater won three of the top awards in Class C and Jordan Barker of Bolton-Warrensburg repeated as Goalkeeper of the Year as Section II named its all-star teams on Sunday.

Keelyn Peacock and Brooke Pickett shared Player of the Year honors in Class C for Stillwater, which won a second straight state title this season. Christine Ihnatolya of Stillwater was named Coach of the Year in that class.

Barker was named the top goalie in Class C for the second straight year. Paul Rogan of Schuylerville earned Coach of the Year honors in Class B.

Among the Section II all-stars in Class C were Kylie Mann and Gabby Marchello of Adirondack League champion Lake George, Vanessa Evans and Lilly Phillips of Cambridge, Leah Monroe and Gabs Mowery of Bolton-Warrensburg and Teya Staie and Devon Wagner of Stillwater.

In Class A, Izzy Dennison and Brigid Duffy of Foothills Council champion Queensbury were named all-stars, as was Jaime DeSimone of South High. Autumn Soukup of Saratoga earned all-star honors in Class AA.

The Class D all-stars included Becky Ostrander and Sarah Paige of Fort Ann, as well as Lauren Maher of Saratoga Catholic. In Class B, the all-stars included Cassandra Cooper and Brooke Keefer of Schuylerville, Molly Brophy of Greenwich and Jada Brown, Ryleigh Hopeck and Brynn Murphy of Mechanicville.

Section II All-Stars


Player of the Year: Claire Hutton (Bethlehem).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Molly DiCaprio (Guilderland).

Coach of the Year: Tom Rogan (Bethlehem).

All-Section Team: Danielle Casey (Shen), Sophia DeMura (Shen), Ruth Hotaling (Bethlehem), Ianah Mackey (Colonie), Olivia Martuscello (Shaker), Margot Nezaj (Guilderland), Olivia Piraino (Niskayuna), Autumn Soukup (Saratoga), JoAnne VanRoyen (Bethlehem).


Players of the Year: Liv Raucci (Mohonasen), Alex Skoda (Mohonasen).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Madison Rifenberick (Troy).

Coach of the Year: Clint DeMyer (Mohonasen).

All-Section Team: Hannah Ashcraft (Burnt Hills), Izzy Dennison (Queensbury), Jaime DeSimone (South High), Brigid Duffy (Queensbury), Megan Hart (Mohonasen), Jessica Haskin (Averill Park), Sydney Haskin (Averill Park), Izzy O’Clair (Mohonasen), Rylee O’Connor (Scotia), Megan Steele (Scotia).


Player of the Year: Sophia Cassano (Schalmont).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Savannah Bowie (Mechanicville).

Coach of the Year: Paul Rogan (Schuylerville).

All-Section Team: Molly Brophy (Greenwich), Jada Brown (Mechanicville), Maggie Brown (Hoosick Falls), Hope Buboltz (Johnstown), Katie Bulich (Catskill), Madison Byrnes (Schalmont), Shannon Cepiel (Cohoes), Sophia Champagne (Tamarac), Ashley Cirilla (Schalmont), Cassandra Cooper (Schuylerville), Marissa DeMartino (Holy Names), Emily Drake (CCHS), Grace Field (Holy Names), Jackie Fisher (Broadalbin-Perth), Carolyn Fitzpatrick (Johnstown), Ryleigh Hopeck (Mechanicville), Brooke Keefer (Schuylerville), Hailey Mitchell (Ravena), Maci Mosher (Catskill), Brynn Murphy (Mechanicville), Ava Panto (Holy Names), Molly Quinn (Greenville), Kaitlyn Silk (Greenville).


Players of the Year: Keelyn Peacock (Stillwater), Brooke Pickett (Stillwater).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jordan Barker (Bolton-Warrensburg).

Coach of the Year: Christine Ihnatolya (Stillwater).

All-Section Team: Vanessa Evans (Cambridge), Alayna Fletcher (Maple Hill), Amanda Gillenwalters (Voorheesville), Olivia Harris (Duanesburg), Lyndsey Hampton (Mayfield), Katelyn Krohn (Schoharie), Megan Krohn (Schoharie), Kaelyn Lawson (Voorheesville), Kylie Mann (Lake George), Gabby Marchello (Lake George), Leah Monroe (Bolton-Warrensburg), Gabs Mowery (Bolton-Warrensburg), Caroline Paolucci (Chatham), Lilly Phillips (Cambridge), Kylie Roloson (Maple Hill), Megan Romansky (Voorheesville), Julia Rose (Chatham), Reagan Sala (Canajoharie), Teya Staie (Stillwater), Devon Wagner (Stillwater).


Player of the Year: Brytney Moore (Northville).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Emily Shepard (Northville).

Coach of the Year: Doug Hammons (Northville).

All-Section Team: Grace Forsey (Northville), Riley Gibbons (Germantown), Emma Howard (Germantown), Lauren Maher (Spa Catholic), Alexis Mumford (St. Johnsville), Becky Ostrander (Fort Ann), Sarah Paige (Fort Ann), Sydney Smith (New Lebanon), Emily Schafer (New Lebanon).

Thunder acquire Dwyer Tschantz

The Adirondack Thunder acquired forward Dwyer Tschantz off waivers from Maine on Sunday, which is ironic because the Mariners released him Saturday after Friday night’s first game of a three-game set with Adirondack.

Tschantz should be available Tuesday, when the teams play their third game in five days. Tschantz, 24, is 6-foot-6, 220 pounds. He played collegiately at Cornell, then played four games with Worcester at the end of its 2017-18 season. He spent all last season with Maine and seven games of this season with the Mariners. During his time in Portland, he had nine goals and eight assists in 57 games.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

  • 7 min to read

The story behind the missing Baby Whale submarine on Lake George has been a mystery for decades. Now, a 73-year-old local man — a young teenager in 1960 — has decided to use this story to confess to stealing the sub and sinking it and to explain why.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News