Subscribe for 33¢ / day
wrestling roundup.jpg

Warrensburg wins Class D crown: Warrensburg placed 10 wrestlers in the finals, with four champions, as the Burghers won their third consecutive Class D sectional title.

Warrensburg finished with 282 team points, nearly 100 more than runner-up Galway (191 1/2). Salem-Cambridge (153) placed third, Whitehall-Fort Ann and Maple Hill tied for fourth and Granville was sixth.

Leading Warrensburg were Class D champs Nolan McNeill (182 pounds), Chris Wilson (195), Jack Binder (220) and Gary Hill (285). Finishing second for the Burghers were Tanner McKenna (99), Dylan Winchell (106), Zach Carpenter (120), Zack Davis (138), Hunter McKenna (145) and Dan Monthony (170). Trevor Winchell (132) was third.

Salem-Cambridge was led by winners Zac Cummings (113) and Tyler Linendoll (138), who edged out Warrensburg's Davis 2-1 in double overtime in the finals. Placing third for S-C were David McFarland (152) and Hunter Day (160).

Whitehall-Fort Ann went 1 for 5 in the finals, with Brendan Covey (170) capturing the only title. Finishing second were David Austin (132), Jimmer Rozell (182), Brandon Bolster (220) and Spencer Dickinson (285).

Granville's David Regimbald was runner-up to Wilson by a 3-2 decision at 195. Finishing third for the Golden Horde were Carlos Medrano-Garcia (126), Michael Burnes (138), Will Duffy (145) and Jon Hermance (220).


Load comments