Try 1 month for 99¢

O’Mara among ‘A’ football all-stars

Queensbury senior running back Liam O’Mara has been named the Class A Offensive Player of the Year for Section II.

O’Mara rushed for 1,226 yards and led the area in scoring with 28 touchdowns to lead the Spartans to a 9-1 record and the regular-season division title.

Burnt Hills senior running back Vincent Daviero was chosen as Class A’s overall Player of the Year, while Burnt Hills linebacker Bryce Mussen was named Defensive Player of the Year. Averill Park’s Jake Bornt was selected as All-Purpose Player of the Year.

Named to the Class A Grasso division all-star first team offense were Queensbury lineman Devin Hunt, tight end Hunter Montgomery and placekicker Alex Roca, and South Glens Falls running back Dylan Schrammel and punter Alex Smith.

Chosen for the Class A Grasso first-team defense were Queensbury lineman Sean Collins and linebacker Nick Izzo.

Class A Grasso Football All-Stars

Player of the Year

Vincent Daviero, Sr., RB/LB, Burnt Hills

Offensive Player of the Year

Liam O’Mara, Sr., RB, Queensbury

Defensive Player of the Year

Bryce Mussen, Sr., LB, Burnt Hills

All-Purpose Player of the Year

Jake Bornt, Sr., WR/DB/KR, Averill Park

Pos. Player Yr. Team

First Team Offense

QB Darien LaPietro Sr. Burnt Hills

RB D.J. Lashley Sr. Burnt Hills

RB Dylan Schrammel Sr. South Glens Falls

RB Incenzio Davis Sr. Scotia

RB Jason McCarthy Sr. Ballston Spa

WR Jared Stillson Sr. Mohonasen

WR Julien Deumaga Sr. Gloversville

TE Hunter Montgomery Jr. Queensbury

OL Devin Hunt Sr. Queensbury

OL Jake Stangle Sr. Ballston Spa

OL Victor Little Sr. Burnt Hills

OL Mike Mannato Jr. Scotia

OL Russell Welch Sr. Mohonasen

K Alex Roca Jr. Queensbury

P Alex Smith Sr. South Glens Falls

First Team Defense

DL Sean Collins Sr. Queensbury

DL Zach Washington Sr. Ballston Spa

DL Gordy Adams Sr. Burnt Hills

DL Chris Serafini Sr. Burnt Hills

LB Nick Izzo Sr. Queensbury

LB Dante Coppola Sr. Scotia

LB Jack Wyatt Sr. Burnt Hills

LB Tyler Reinke So. Mohonasen

DB Aidan Thomas Jr. Ballston Spa

DB Anthony Devizzio Jr. Ballston Spa

DB Logan Stubblebine Jr. Burnt Hills

Spec. Jakai Townsend Sr. Burnt Hills

Second Team Offense

QB Nate Angell Jr. Queensbury

QB Anthony Tomek Jr. Gloversville

RB Brendan Scott Sr. Queensbury

RB Joe Slattery So. Queensbury

RB Kevin York Sr. Mohonasen

RB Jason Carusone So. Scotia

WR Rece Gobel Sr. Burnt Hills

WR Petey Raldiris Sr. Gloversville

TE Zaki Farah Sr. Queensbury

OL Kellen Gannon Sr. Queensbury

OL Jerimiah Davis Sr. Queensbury

OL Matt Seidel Jr. Burnt Hills

OL Grant Schaffer Sr. Burnt Hills

OL Anthony Albanese Jr. Gloversville

OL Colby Harblin Sr. Ballston Spa

K Ghaith Shahin Sr. Burnt Hills

Second Team Defense

DL Griffen Curran Sr. South Glens Falls

DL Tyler Vogel Jr. Queensbury

DL Justis Warren Jr. Burnt Hills

DL Noah Pincher Sr. Mohonasen

DL Carson Chiarello Jr. Scotia

LB James Ward Jr. Queensbury

LB Kameren Port Sr. Gloversville

LB James Prastio Jr. Ballston Spa

DB Jason Rodriguez Sr. Queensbury

DB David D’Annibale Sr. South Glens Falls

DB Jared Slovic Sr. Burnt Hills

Foothills names swimming all-stars

Queensbury and Glens Falls were well represented on the Foothills Council girls swimming and diving all-star team.

Making the first team from the league-champion Spartans were Genevieve Coutant in the 200-yard individual medley, Sarah Little in the 100 butterfly and 100 breaststroke, Willow Swan-Scott in the 100 backstroke and the 200 medley relay team of Swan-Scott, Natalie Giumarra, Little and Anna Bearor.

Glens Falls first-teamers included Rowan Davidson in the 200 freestyle and 500 freestyle, as well as the 200 freestyle relay team of Emma Mauro, Madison Maier, Lily Murray and Ella Wolfstich and 400 freestyle relay team of Wolfstich, Maier, Davidson and Mauro.

Foothills Council All-Stars

First Team

Event: Name School

200 medley relay: Queensbury (Willow Swan-Scott, Natalie Giumarra, Sarah Little, Anna Bearor)

200 freestyle: Rowan Davidson Glens Falls

200 individual medley:

Genevieve Coutant Queensbury

50 freestyle: Alayna Gray Fonda-Johnstown

Diving: Kamri Ahrens Gloversville-Mayfield

100 butterfly: Sarah Little Queensbury

100 freestyle: Alayna Gray Fonda-Johnstown

500 freestyle: Rowan Davidson Glens Falls

200 freestyle relay: Glens Falls (Emma Mauro, Madison Maier, Lily Murray, Ella Wolfstich)

100 backstroke: Willow Swan-Scott


100 breaststroke: Sarah Little Queensbury

400 freestyle relay: Glens Falls (Ella Wolfstich, Madison Maier, Rowan Davidson, Emma Mauro)

Second Team

200 medley relay: Fonda-Johnstown (Julia Norris, Sophia Frenyea, Alayna Gray, Angelina Atwood)

200 freestyle: Isabelle Willis


200 IM: Ahva Heyman Glens Falls

50 freestyle: Ella Wolfstich Glens Falls

100 butterfly: Willow Swan-Scott


100 freestyle: Anna Bearor Queensbury

500 freestyle: Isabelle Willis


200 free relay: Queensbury (Sarah Little, Sadie Giumarra, Kayla Keddy, Anna Bearor)

100 backstroke: Allie Johnston Queensbury

100 breaststroke: Emma Mauro Glens Falls

400 free relay: Queensbury (Kayla Keddy, Emily Fenton, Sadie Giumarra, Allie Johnston)

Honorable Mention

Fonda-Johnstown: Angelina Atwood, Abigail Rizzo, Sophia Frenyea, Alayna Gray (400 free relay)

Glens Falls: Regan Kaiser, Marlee Pelton-Guentes, Adler Palmer, Brooke Patnode (200 medley relay), Reagan Rath (200 free), Emma Mauro (50 free), Madison Maier (100 fly, 100 back), Ella Wolfstich (100 free)

Gloversville-Mayfield: Mariana Benvenuto (200 IM), Kaylie Sturgess-Mansell, Caitlyn Fonda, Isabelle Willis, Mariana Benvenuto (200 free relay)

Queensbury: Rachel Palmer (500 free), Natalie Giumarra (100 breaststroke)

Adir.-Wasaren lists field hockey stars

League champion Hoosick Falls and Warrensburg each led the way with four players on the first team of the Adirondack-Wasaren League field hockey all-stars.

Madelyn Kasulinous, Madison Sprague, Lillian Hickey and Zoe Gress made it for Hoosick Falls, while Isabella DeAmelia, Abigail Ranous, Sara Langworthy and Megan Hughes were named from Warrensburg.

Also making the first team were Corinth’s Anika Parnell, Alex Carney and Lizzie Milligan; Granville’s Grace Hemcher and Lexyss Zovistoski; Greenwich’s Arianna Spiezio and Kylee Masse; North Warren’s Sydney Gagnon, Eliza Brown and Nicole Buckman; and Salem-Cambridge’s Serena Wilk and Kyndra Riche.

Adirondack-Wasaren All-Stars

First Team

Player School

Anika Parnell Corinth

Alex Carney Corinth

Lizzie Milligan Corinth

Grace Hemcher Granville

Lexyss Zovistoski Granville

Arianna Spiezio Greenwich

Kylee Masse Greenwich

Madelyn Kasulinous Hoosick Falls

Madison Sprague Hoosick Falls

Lillian Hickey Hoosick Falls

Zoe Gress Hoosick Falls

Sydney Gagnon North Warren

Eliza Brown North Warren

Nicole Buckman North Warren

Serena Wilk Salem-Cambridge

Kyndra Riche Salem-Cambridge

Isabella DeAmelia Warrensburg

Abigail Ranous Warrensburg

Sara Langworthy Warrensburg

Megan Hughes Warrensburg

Second Team

Grace Breheny Corinth

Sydney Plummer Corinth

Elizabeth Jensen Corinth

Haley Corlew Granville

Brynna Perry Granville

Summer Wilbur Greenwich

Eliza Jordan Greenwich

Ayla Fauler Hoosick Falls

Anna Myers Hoosick Falls

Emily Schnoop Hoosick Falls

Katie Weeden Hoosick Falls

Megan Bruno North Warren

Lauren Monroe North Warren

Grace Glascock North Warren

Nichole Swenor Salem-Cambridge

Blake Riche Salem-Cambridge

Grace Cupp Warrensburg

Mairina Callahan Warrensburg

Madison Binder Warrensburg

Mikayla Rothermel Warrensburg

Honorable Mention

Corinth: Mya Manning, Paige Lahendro. Granville: Payton Barlow. Greenwich: Isabelle Solan, Jenna Wilbur. Hoosick Falls: Emma McCart, Catherine Kennedy. Salem-Cambridge: Dorothy Moffitt, Tori Cary.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments