Subscribe for 33¢ / day

GLENS FALLS — The Post-Star has announced the honorees for its annual Teen Excellence Awards, a community initiative that focuses on youth achievement, personal growth and innovation.

The following teens are being honored:

Michael All, 17, Corinth High School

Kately Allen, 17, Warrensburg Jr.-Sr. High School

Elizabeth Barton, 17, Queensbury High School

Ryan Beaury, 18, Hadley-Luzerne Central School

Joseph Behan, 17, Queensbury High School

Seth Browe, 17, Granville Jr.-Sr. High School

Taylor Carroll, 18, Indian Lake Central School

Lillian Dechene, 16, Long Lake Central School

Arek Gordon, 18, Greenwich Jr.-Sr. High School

Charlotte Holding, 16, Lake George Jr.-Sr. High School

Caitlyn Johnson, 17, Bolton Central School

Emily LaFave, 17, South Glens Falls High School

Samantha Markham, 17, Hudson Falls High School

Amara Mitchell, 17, Johnsburg Central School

Zoe Paige, 17, Granville Jr.-Sr. High School

Kontessa Siliski, 17, Granville Jr.-Sr. High School

Lucy Tougas, 17, Glens Falls High School

Ashley Tucker, 17, Argyle Central School

Kiley Whalen, 18, Queensbury High School

Heather Wood, 17, Warrensburg Jr.-Sr. High School

The awards look to go beyond academics and athletics to identify outstanding young people between the ages of 13 and 19 who have demonstrated personal growth, leadership and innovation along with a commitment to the community.

Beginning this past October, teachers, coaches, youth group leaders, church leaders, educational administrators and employers were invited to nominate teens who they believe are the young leaders of tomorrow and serve as exceptional role models in their schools, jobs, communities and beyond.

“The Teen Excellence Awards give us the opportunity to recognize the many outstanding young leaders in our communities,” said Terry Coomes, publisher of The Post-Star. “This year’s honorees embody the traits of civic involvement, leadership, and resourcefulness. Our schools and our communities have already benefited from their efforts and impact and we are excited to share their stories.”

The judges who had the task of selecting the recipients were chosen from within the community. In addition to the Publisher, Terry Coomes, the Judging Committee included Francis Cocozza, principal of Lake George Junior-Senior High School; and Robert Nemer, president of Nemer Ford, the sponsor of the Teen Excellence Award and president of Nemer Motor Group, four dealerships with six different brands.

The honorees will be recognized at an awards breakfast on Wednesday, March 8 at The Great Escape Lodge and featured in a commemorative special section of The Post-Star.

To attend the awards breakfast, look for a reservation form in The Post-Star starting Jan. 12 through March 2, or go to the paper’s website to make an online reservation,

For more information on Teen Excellence, contact Gina Tenner at 742-3365 or


Load comments