GLENS FALLS — Honorees for The Post-Star’s 2018 Teen Excellence Awards have been announced.

The honorees, who also will have the opportunity to apply for college scholarships made possible from several community donors, will be recognized at a March 7 awards breakfast at The Great Escape Lodge in Queensbury, and they will be featured in a special section of The Post-Star.

The Teen Excellence Awards look to go beyond academics and athletics to identify outstanding young people between the ages of 13 and 19 who have demonstrated personal growth, leadership and innovation along with a commitment to the community.

Beginning in October, teachers, coaches, youth group leaders, church leaders, educational administrators and employers were invited to nominate teens who they believe are the young leaders of tomorrow and serve as exceptional role models in their schools, jobs, communities and beyond.

The honorees are:

Marlies Amberger, 18, South Glens Falls High School

Margaret Borgos, 17, Queensbury High School

Cole Carpenter, 17, Queensbury High School

Patrick C. Dee, 17, Lake George Junior-Senior High School

Rachael Duell, 17, Glens Falls High School

Caitlyn Fuss, 17, Hadley-Luzerne Junior-Senior High School

Alejandro Garcia, 17, Queensbury High School

Chloe Harris, 17, Whitehall Junior-Senior High School

Elizabeth Hicks, 17, Granville Junior-Senior High School

Julia Mannix, 17, Queensbury High School

Kierra McCarthy, 17, Hudson Falls High School

Olivia McNeill, 17, Warrensburg Junior-Senior High School

Helen Mooney, 18, Cambridge Central School

Mackenzie Roberts, 17, Bolton Central School

Derek Sherrange, 17, Argyle Central School

Morgan Smith, 18, South Glens Falls High School

Brendan Tomb, 17, Johnsburg Central School

Casey Tomb, 17, Johnsburg Central School

Seamus Tomb, 17, Johnsburg Central School

Derek Willson, 17, Schuylerville High School

“The Teen Excellence Awards give us an opportunity to recognize students that are outstanding in the towns and communities that they live in,” said Robert Forcey, publisher of The Post-Star. “We have kids that are doing more by the 10th grade than many adults have contributed to this community at the age of 35. My hope is that this effort to recognize them makes them understand how this community values their contribution and shows them that this area values and recognizes our citizens for their contributions. We are proud to be the ones who get to make sure that their stories are told.”

The judges who had the task of selecting the recipients of the Teen Excellence Awards included Forcey, of The Post-Star; Francis Cocozza, principal of Lake George Junior-Senior High School; and Robert Nemer, president of Nemer Ford, a sponsor of the Teen Excellence Awards and president of Nemer Motor Group.

To attend the awards breakfast, look for a reservation form in The Post-Star from Jan. 24 through March 1, or go to the paper’s website to make an online reservation at poststar.com/teens.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments