Try 1 month for 99¢

U.S. Rep. Elise Stefanik was one of eight Republicans who voted Wednesday for another bill to reopen the government.

Stefanik, R-Schuylerville, voted yes on a bill, which would fund the following departments: Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, Interior, Transportation and Department of Housing and Urban Development and related agencies for the rest of the fiscal year ending Sept. 30.

The other seven Republicans voting yes were: John Katko of NY-24; Fred Upton of Michigan; Will Hurd of Texas; Gred Walden of Oregon; Adam Kinzinger of Illinois; and Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington and Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania.

All Democrats who were present voted in favor of the bill.

Now the bill heads to the Senate, where it is not expected to be taken up by Majority Leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky because it does not include $5.7 billion in funding for President Donald Trump’s border wall.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Michael Goot covers politics, business, the city of Glens Falls and the town and village of Lake George. Reach him at 518-742-3320 or and follow his blog at


Load comments