Subscribe for 33¢ / day

South Glens Falls senior K.J. Mickel and Queensbury junior Brendan Scott have been named to the New York State Sportswriters Association Class A football third team.

Mickel was named to the third-team offense as an all-purpose player, while Scott made the third-team as a defensive back.

Queensbury defensive lineman Dom Nassivera and defensive back Patrick Conway, both seniors, were named to the Class A all-state fourth team, while Spartans junior offensive lineman J.D. Aspland made the fifth-team defense.

Named all-state honorable mention in Class A were South High sophomore quarterback Connor Bovair and junior receiver/kick returner Dylan Schrammel, and Queensbury senior lineman Mike Siano.

Saratoga Springs senior defensive lineman Kevin Toote was named to the all-state Class AA second team. Blue Streaks senior quarterback Wes Eglintine made the sixth team. Named honorable mention in Class AA were Saratoga receiver Carter Steingraber, lineman Brandon Camaj, linebacker Cam Adams, and defensive backs Avery Mickle and Frank Spatafora



Covering high school and minor-league sports in Section II since 1989. SUNY Plattsburgh grad. Colleen's lesser half. Three amazing young people call me Dad. Fan of Philadelphia Eagles, New York Rangers and Mets, and Syracuse Orange.

Load comments