Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Glens Falls' Joseph Girard III has been named Co-Player of the Year in Class B football, while Greenwich's Cole Burgess and Cambridge's Brenden Holcomb have been named Co-Players of the Year in Class D.

Several other local players also earned spots on the New York State Sportswriters Association Class B and D all-state football teams.

Girard, a junior quarterback and safety, led the Indians to the state semifinals and an 11-1 record as he passed for 1,863 yards and 21 touchdowns, completing 60.7 percent of his passes. He also rushed for 497 yards and seven scores.

Holcomb helped Cambridge to the Class D state championship for the second year in a row. The senior linebacker and offensive end stood out on both sides of the ball, leading the 12-1 team with 25 receptions for 696 yards and nine touchdowns.

Burgess, a senior quarterback and cornerback, led Greenwich to a 9-1 mark with his remarkable speed and athleticism. He rushed for 1,296 yards and 19 touchdowns, averaging nearly 16 yards per carry, and he passed for 695 yards and six scores.

Glens Falls running back Aaron Sampson and linebackers Dakota Trombley and Kyle Vachone made the Class B all-state second team. Glens Falls receiver Quinn Girard and placekicker Sam Hogan made the third team. Named to the fourth team were Glens Falls defensive lineman Andrew Rizzo, and Schuylerville offensive lineman Thomas Donovan and defensive back Stratton Sherman. Schuylerville running back Derek Willson, defensive lineman Jared Thivierge and linebacker Orion Anderson made the fifth team. Class B honorable mentions were Hudson Falls defensive lineman Schyler Russell, and defensive back Carson Dunkel and all-purpose player Paul Harshbarger of Schuylerville.

Named to the Class D all-state first team were Cambridge offensive lineman Nathan Genevick and linebacker Max Hoffer, Ticonderoga defensive back Evan Graney and Greenwich placekicker Chris Albrecht. Cambridge placed several players on the second team -- quarterback Zack Rowland, running back Tommy English, defensive lineman Colton Dean and kicker Helen Mooney. Also making the second team were linebackers Reese Cristaldi of Greenwich and Hayden Scuderi of Ticonderoga. Named to the third team were Warrensburg running back Trevor Prosser and all-purpose player Cole Lanfear, and Whitehall linemen Andrew Genier and Brandon Bolster. Honorable mention selections were Greenwich tight end Joe Smith, linemen Hunter Mosher of Warrensburg and Sawyer Veneto of Ticonderoga, Cambridge linebacker Jonas Butz and Granville defensive back Will Duffy.

Lake George/Hadley-Luzerne linebacker Jimmy Kelleher was an honorable mention in Class C.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.


Covering high school and minor-league sports in Section II since 1989. SUNY Plattsburgh grad. Colleen's lesser half. Three amazing young people call me Dad. Fan of Philadelphia Eagles, New York Rangers and Mets, and Syracuse Orange.

Load comments