Four Saratoga Springs seniors were named to the Class AA Empire football all-star first team earlier this month.

Running back Jesse Spencer, who rushed for 1,075 yards and 11 touchdowns this season, and lineman Zach Forbes were chosen for the first-team offense.

Named to the first-team defense were Saratoga linebackers Brandon Bogardus and Dan Rittenhouse, who had 85 and 78 tackles during the season, respectively.

Ballston Spa defensive backs R.J. Borgolini and Jordan Davis also made the Class AA Empire first-team defense.

Saratoga placed wide receiver Alex Chandler on the second-team offense, while Rich Cooper and Jake Eglintine were honorable mentions, as were Ballston's John DeGuardi, Gianni Spensieri and Tom King.

Shenendehowa senior running back Tony Fusco, a former Queensbury standout, was named Class AA Empire Offensive Player of the Year. Shen tight end/linebacker Brandon Miller was the division's overall player of the year, while CBA end Nick Cleveland was the defensive player of the year.

Class AA Empire Football All-Stars

Player of the Year: Brandon Miller, TE/LB, Shenendehowa

Offensive Player of the Year: Tony Fusco, RB, Shenendehowa

Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Cleveland, DE, CBA

First Team Offense

Ted Cillis QB CBA

Jesse Spencer RB Saratoga

Cody Zappone RB CBA

Cameron Wynn RB CBA

Connor Drislane WR Guilderland

Peter Luizzi WR CBA

Derrick Boland WR Shen

Mark Thomas OL Shen

Mike Zaloga OL CBA

Adam Gersowitz OL Guilderland

Sully Crotty OL CBA

Zach Forbes OL Saratoga

Jon Martin K/P Bethlehem

Trey Silver KR Bethlehem

First Team Defense

Cole Lampman DL Shen

Greg Cleveland DL CBA

Chris Stewart DL Shen

Jimmy McLaughlin DL Guilderland

Brandon Bogardus LB Saratoga

Dan Rittenhouse LB Saratoga

Nick Hirsch LB Shen

Tim O'Connor DB Guilderland

R.J. Borgolini DB Ballston Spa

Jordan Davis DB Ballston Spa

Torey Williams DB CBA

Corey Acker DB Shen

Second Team Offense

Teddy Van Galen QB Shen

Mike Graves RB Bethlehem

Hezekiah Williamson RB Albany

Micaiah Henningham RB Guilderland

Zach Garcia WR Bethlehem

Alex Chandler WR Saratoga

Pete Rustowicz WR CBA

Aaron Ivanauskas OL Shen

Kevin Makarewicz OL Shen

Jimmy Eberle OL Shen

D'Angelo Livingston OL Guilderland

Alex Gaines OL Guilderland

Second Team Defense

Ryan McCart DL Shen

Nigel Simmons DL Guilderland

Trevor Degre DL CBA

Pat Curran DL Bethlehem

Pete Reilly LB CBA

Stephen Jill LB Guilderland

Chris Miller LB Shen

Kyle Buss DB Shen

Ryan Buss DB Shen

Noah Poskanzer DB Guilderland

John Gosstola DB Bethlehem

Tony Stanish DB Guilderland

Honorable Mention

Albany: Mike Allinger. Ballston Spa: John DeGuardi, Gianni Spensieri, Tom King. Bethlehem: Parker Reutz, Josh Northrup, Dan Robeson, Mike Anziano. CBA: Patrick Vivian, Nick Gentile. Saratoga: Rich Cooper, Jake Eglintine.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Comments will not be posted if any of the following rules are violated:
- Comments must be contained to the topic of the articles only.
- Comments must be civil in tone and cannot contain personal insults directed toward another reader.
- Profanities cannot be used, including abbreviations or acronyms.
- Comments critical of crime or accident victims, or imply guilt are not allowed.
- Comments that are potentially libelous, including those that contain accusations not supported by facts are not allowed.
- Comments that appear to be taunting others who comment are not allowed.
- Comments should be brief and never more than 1,000 characters.