Warren County Memories book 20 Under 40

Phantoms move to newly formed division

2011-07-06T00:05:00Z Phantoms move to newly formed divisionStaff Report Glens Falls Post-Star
July 06, 2011 12:05 am  • 

The Adirondack Phantoms will play in a new division come October.


The American Hockey League announced its divisional alignment for the 2011-12 season on Tuesday, placing the Phantoms in the newly created Northeast Division with Albany, Springfield, Connecticut, and Bridgeport. Albany is the only one of those teams who played in the same division with the Phantoms last season.


The league hasn’t decided its scheduling formula yet, so it’s unclear how many times the Phantoms will play each divisional opponent, and how many times they will face former division foes Binghamton, Syracuse, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, Hershey and Norfolk, which remain in the East Division.


The Charlotte Checkers, formerly the Albany Devils, also left the East Division to move to the Western Conference.


In a six division format, the AHL will use a playoff format that is the same as the National Hockey League.


Eight teams in each conference will qualify for the postseason, with the three division winners earning the top three seeds and the next five best teams in order of regular-season points seeded fourth through eighth.


The conference quarterfinals will be best-of-five series. The conference semifinals, conference finals and Calder Cup Finals will be best-of-seven series. Teams will be re-ordered after the first round so that the highest-remaining seed plays the lowest-remaining seed.


In the context of recent league history, the move places the Phantoms in a less competitive division.


Including the Phantoms, four of the five teams in the new division were the four worst teams in the Eastern Conference last season. The Connecticut Whale are the only team in the Northeast Division that reached the playoffs last season.


Meanwhile, in the Phantoms’ old division, five of the eight teams reached the postseason, including Binghamton and Hershey, winners of the last three Calder Cups.


The new division will give local fans who follow the New York-New Jersey NHL clubs a chance to see the prospects of those teams more frequently.


Connecticut is affiliated with the New York Rangers; Bridgeport with the New York Islanders; Albany with the New Jersey Devils.


Copyright 2015 Glens Falls Post-Star. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.


1) Comments must be contained to the topic of the articles only. Comments that stray from the direct subject of the article will be deleted.

2) Readers are free to comment on and debate other readers' comments, but comments must specifically address the issue(s) raised. Comments containing personal insults directed toward another reader in any form will be deleted.

3) Comments must be civil in tone, and there will be no name calling of any kind. Uncivil or inappropriate comments will be deleted, as will any comment containing profanities.

4) Comments critical of crime or accident victims will be deleted.

5) Comments that are potentially libelous, including those that contain accusations not supported by facts, will be deleted.

Commenters who abuse these policies will have their e-mail registrations revoked.


View the full commenting policy.

Thank you, and we hope you enjoy interacting with us and the community.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick