Hudson Falls and Argyle earned No. 1 seeds in pairings announced Tuesday for the Section II Volleyball Tournament.

Argyle earned the top seed in Class D and Hudson Falls got top billing in Class B. Lake George was awarded the No. 2 seed in Class C and South Glens Falls was ranked second in Class A.

The tournament begins Wednesday with opening-round games. Quarterfinals in all classes will be held Friday. Championship matches are scheduled for Nov. 3 and 4 at Saratoga Springs High School.

Hudson Falls (12-1 league, 14-1 overall) is a three-time defending Section II champion in Class B. This year, the Tigers tied for the best overall record in the Foothills Council with South Glens Falls. The Tigers will meet the winner of the Glens Falls/Cobleskill match in the quarterfinals on Friday.

Argyle (13-1, 13-3), which went all the way to the state finals last year, sits on top of Class D for the second year in a row. Galway, last year’s Class C champ, is seeded third.

Hartford drew the fourth seed and gets a home match against Middleburgh on Friday. Fort Edward is seeded seventh and hosts No. 10 Hadley-Luzerne in an opening-round match on Wednesday.

Perennial champion Burnt Hills got the No. 1 seed in Class A. South High (12-1, 14-1), hosts Gloversville in a quarterfinal on Friday. Queensbury drew the fourth seed and gets a Friday home match against Catholic Central.

Voorheesville leads a crowded Class C bracket that includes 15 teams and seven opening-round matches on Wednesday. No. 2 Lake George (13-1, 14-1) hosts Stillwater. No. 3 Saratoga Catholic welcomes Taconic Hills.

Section II Volleyball


Class B Opening Round

No. 9 Glens Falls at No. 8 Cobleskill, 5 p.m.

No. 10 Albany Leadership at No. 7 Emma Willard, 5 p.m.

Class C Opening Round

No. 9 Hoosic Valley at No. 8 Fonda, 5 p.m.

No. 12 Tamarac at No. 5 Mayfield, 5 p.m.

No. 13 Rensselaer at No. 4 Loud. Christian, 5 p.m.

No. 14 Taconic Hills at No. 3 Spa Catholic, 5 p.m.

No. 11 Albany Leadership at No. 6 Greenville, 5 p.m.

No. 10 Chatham at No. 7 Catskill, 5 p.m.

15 Stillwater at 2 Lake George, 5 p.m.

Class D Opening Round

No. 9 Berne-Knox at No. 8 Germantown, 5 p.m.

No. 10 Hadley-Luzerne at No. 7 Fort Edward, 5 p.m.


Class AA Quarterfinals

No. 1 Shenendehowa, bye

No. 6 Shaker at No. 3 Ballston Spa, 4:30 p.m.

No. 5 Niskayuna at No. 4 Columbia, 5 p.m.

No. 7 Bethlehem at No. 2 Guilderland, 5 p.m.

Class A Quarterfinals

No. 1 Burnt Hills, bye

No. 5 CCHS at No. 4 Queensbury, 5 p.m.

No. 6 Mohonasen at No. 3 Averill Park, 5 p.m.

No. 7 Gloversville at No. 2 South High, 5 p.m.

Class B Quarterfinals

Glens Falls/Cobleskill winner at No. 1 Hudson Falls, 5 p.m.

No. 5 Bishop Gibbons vs. No. 4 Johnstown at Gloversville, 5 p.m.

No. 6 Ravena at No. 3 Holy Names, 5 p.m.

Emma Willard/Albany Leadership winner at No. 2 Broadalbin-Perth, 5 p.m.

Class D Quarterfinals

Berne-Knox/Germantown winner at No. 1 Argyle, 5 p.m.

No. 5 Middleburgh at No. 4 Hartford, 5 p.m.

No. 6 Duanesburg at No. 3 Galway, 5 p.m.

Fort Edward/Hadley-Luzerne at No. 2 Meekel Christian, 5 p.m.