QUEENSBURY — Mayor Jack Diamond will be taking a seat on the Warren County Board of Supervisors, as Democrats swept all three outstanding Glens Falls races after Tuesday’s counting of absentee ballots.

Diamond expanded upon his five-vote lead from the polls last week. Diamond received a total of 193 votes to defeat Nancy Underwood, the Republican, Independence and Reform Party candidate, who had 174.

Ward 1 Councilor Jim Campinell defeated challenger Phillip Underwood, who had the Republican and Independence Party ballot lines to win re-election to a second four-year term. Campinell held a four-vote lead, 164-160, on Election Night. After absentees were counted, the final total was 185-171 in favor of Campinell.

Diana Palmer will be the new face on the council. She defeated Republican Rachel Murray 486-463. Palmer and Murray each received 24 absentee votes, so the margin remained the same as on Election Night.

Diamond said Tuesday he is excited about the opportunity.

“I’m re-energized and looking forward to going up to the county and representing the city of Glens Falls and helping move the city forward,” he said.

Campinell said he attributed his victory to having more “skin in the game,” referencing a comment made by Underwood criticizing him because he does not own a home, but lives in Cronin High Rise. He said he has deep roots in the community.

“I’m a longtime East-Ender,” he said.

Campinell said he would like to focus on projects to improve energy efficiency and sustainability. He is also looking forward to completing improvements at East Field, including replacing the pool liner, repairing the field house building, renovating the basketball court and upgrading the playground.

Palmer said she is “humbled and grateful” by the outcome, which she attributed to hard work, getting out and talking with voters and her community involvement.

“I’m ready and excited for the real work to start,” she said.

She also wants to focus on improving efficiency, creating a sustainable community and developing collaborations between Glens Falls and other municipalities, including Queensbury and the county. Underwood said his showing at the polls was respectable for a first-time candidate and the campaign was a great experience.

“I learned a lot about my neighbors and how important the police are to them; also, how they felt about the DPW being too understaffed to properly service them,” he said.

Underwood hoped Campinell would focus on abandoned properties. He did not rule out a return to politics in the future.

Underwood said it was somewhat unusual to have a husband and wife run for office. They each arrived at the decision independently. They both care about the community, especially Nancy Underwood, who grew up in the city.

Campinell’s victory means the bipartisan unity ticket had a perfect record as Republican Scott Endieveri was re-elected in Ward 4 as well. Current Third Ward Councilor Jane Reid was successful in her bid for councilor-at-large. The current person in that position, Dan Hall, was elected mayor.

Second Ward Councilor Bill Collins and Fifth Ward Councilor Jim Clark were unopposed.

The current 4-3 Democratic majority on the council remain, with the Democrats consisting of Hall, Campinell, Palmer and Collins, and Republicans Reid, Endieveri and Clark.

In other races around Warren County, Democrat Cynthia Hyde defeated Republican Susan Shepler to win a full two-year term as supervisor of Thurman. Hyde had been appointed supervisor in February. She received 250 votes, compared with 229 for Shepler, who was running on a platform of financial stability.

Hyde will be facing a board that has a majority of three candidates elected who were running as a ticket with Shepler. Incumbent Kathy Templeton was ousted by Douglas Needham, who was elected to a four-year term. He received 266 votes, compared with Templeton’s 212. Incumbent Joan Harris was re-elected to a four-year seat with 295 votes.

Brenda Ackley got 311 votes and Gail Seaman received 250 to win two-year seats on the board over Mary Eddy, who finished with 209.

The outcome of the Johnsburg Town Board races was unchanged from Election Night. With absentees counted, Republican Laurie Prescott Arnheiter remained the top vote-getter with 506. She will be joined by fellow Republican Arnold Stevens, who had 461. He narrowly edged out Katharine Nightingale, who had 454 votes on the Johnsburg Hamlets United line.

Democrat Kathleen Lorah defeated Jo A. Smith 436-390 in the race for Johnsburg town clerk.

The final tally for the supervisor race was Andrea Hogan receiving 488, compared with Peter Olesheski’s 377.



Reporter for The Post-Star, covering the city of Glens Falls, town and village of Lake George and northern Warren County communities.

Load comments