Zac Rinaldo left Wednesday's 3-2 loss to the IceCaps 11:44 into the first period after taking a five-minute major for elbowing and an accompanying game misconduct.
He says the call was a joke and he might be right.
Rinaldo delivered a big hit to Julian Melchiori behind the net and referee Tim Mayer called elbow from the blue line.
"It's a joke, he didn't see the hit," Rinaldo said. "I did hit him shoulder-to-shoulder. I watched it as soon as I got off the ice. It's just, I guess they hear the impact and then they saw the blood and then they called it.
"I went back to watch it and realized I wasn't even close to what they said - not even elbow, nothing.
"Originally (they called) an elbow, and then they saw the blood and thought elbow to the head, blood, okay kick him out. It's a joke."
The replay confirms that it was a shoulder-to-shoulder hit, not even an elbow deserving of a minor.
Head coach Terry Murray declined to comment without being able to take a better look at the video; he only saw it briefly between periods.
"You want to make sure you're going to say the right thing and get a few looks at it," he said.
Two game misconducts means an automatic suspension, but only if they come from boarding or checking from behind calls. This is Rinaldo's first game misconduct of the season and it was for neither of those.